Kfarmeshki lies in the circumscription of Rashaya in the southern part of the fertile Beqaa valley, a rich plain stretching between two chains of mountains. To reach it one should follow the Damascus Highway from Shtaura and then turn right and go south, passing Lake Qarwan and going in the direction of Rashaya el-Wadi through Majdel Balhiss. Alternative routes may be found that also go southward. Kfarmeshki stands at a height of nearly 4,000 feet and is just over fifty miles from the Lebanese capital Beirut.
In 1852 the village was visited by an orientalist by the name of Edward Robinson. He later wrote about his visit, mentioning the existence of two Roman sarcophagi in the area. One may see the ruins of a Roman temple having connection with a group of sanctuaries on Mount Hermon. This temple, seventy feet by thirty, has suffered a great deal of damage, but from its position facing the splendid Mount Hermon, it offers a unique and unparalleled spectacle. George Taylor spoke of the alignment of the doorway in relation to the Mountain. The blocks of stone used in the construction are a yard thick, skillfully hewn and finished. The pediment is attractive and elegant. The only wall still standing with its pilasters is the one on the north side. Impressive columns embellish the entrance on the western side and there one can see an altar and a stairway leading to an underground chamber.
It is supposed that the temple was once used as a sanctuary dedicated to the prophet Safa, En-Nabi Safa, the Pure, descendant of Jacob. His honorable body is believed to lie somewhere in the grounds accompanied by his spirit and an ancient tradition has it that one day a man with sufficiently deep faith will uncover it